Frequently Asked Questions
Date: 05.10.18Can I pay the inspector for my license renewal?
The answer is absolutely not. You may pay on line at www.arbarber.com or you may send in with your renewal section of your old license to 501 Woodlane, Suite 311C, Little Rock, AR 72201.
I need to renew my license; how can I do that?
If you had a current license last year, you can renew your license on line at www.arbarber.com or mail your renewal application and the correct fee to our office. You may also visit our office during normal business hours. If you pay in cash, you must bring the exact change.
When does my license expire and when can I renew?
You may renew your license yearly between July 1 and September 1. There is a $25.00 penalty for renewal after September 1. The law requires you to renew your license yearly. If you do not renew within three (3) years, you will have to take the practical exam for licensure.
What is your mailing address and what is your location?
We are located across from the State Capitol and our mailing address is as follows:
State Board of Barber Examiners
501 Woodlane, Suite 311 C
Little Rock, AR 72201
We are a military family currently living outside Arkansas and my spouse has an Arkansas barber license that is about to expire. What do we do?
Spouses of military members on active duty do not have to renew their licenses while they are outside the state. The license will be renewed for $75 after you return to Arkansas. For military personnel who move to Arkansas, we will expedite your spouse’s out-of-state barber license provided it is current.
I renewed my license online weeks ago, but have not received it yet. What should I do? If you do not receive your license within 10 to 14 days, please contact us at email@example.com or call 501-682-4035. If paying on line, please make any corrections of your mailing address. Do not list e-mail.
My license has expired. How long do I have to renew my license?
You may renew your license up to three (3) years after it expires by paying $75.00 for each year of delinquency. After that you will have to take the practical exam.
Remember, you may not work with an expired license. If you work with an expired license, you will receive a citation by the Barber Board.
Can a barber student or someone with a license from another state work in my barber shop?
No. Anyone working in a barber shop must be licensed by the State of Arkansas by their respective professional board. A student, either current or a graduate who has not taken board, may NOT work in your shop.
I lost my license, how do I obtain another one?
You can obtain a duplicate license by mailing a check or money order for $5 to our office along with a copy of your Driver’s License and a letter stating your license has been lost or destroyed.
How do I transfer my out-of-state license to Arkansas (reciprocity)?
Your license will not transfer. It is only good in the state it was issued in. Please see the requirements listed at www.arbarber.com and contact us for an application at firstname.lastname@example.org or download the form and print.
I'm moving out of state. How do I get my license transferred?
Your license will not transfer. Please contact the state that you are moving to for that state’s requirements. Additionally, you will need to complete a Certification of Record form to be mailed to the state board where you are moving, which can be obtained by contacting our office. The fee is $50.00.
I want to open up a new barber shop; what do I need to do?
Our shop application can be obtained by contacting us at email@example.com. Although anyone may own a barbershop, a currently licensed barber must work there.
I already own a barber shop but I am moving to another location. What do I need to do?
To change the location or manager of your establishment, you will be required to fill out another application and pay the required fee.
I sold my barber shop to someone else. What do we need to do?
The new owner will need to complete a shop application, have a barber working there, and pay the required fee.
How do I file a complaint?
A complaint must be in written form either mailed or you can email the complaint to firstname.lastname@example.org.
• Complaints need to be specific and detailed such as names, addresses, phone numbers, persons involved, pictures and specific details of the complaint.
• Facebook photos without a specific complaint and details will not be investigated.
• Depending on the severity of the complaint, the inspector will investigate when they are scheduled to be in that territory/town.
How do I obtain a copy of a complaint that was filed on me?
Under the FOIA you may request a copy of your complaint in writing.
Is a cosmetologist allowed to trim a customer's mustache or beard?
Yes, a cosmetologist may trim a customer’s mustache or beard with scissors or trimmers. However, a cosmetologist may NOT shave a customer’s face or neck with a straight razor, disposable razor, or any other appliance without a barber’s license.
Can a cosmetology establishment display a Barber Pole or use the word barber?
Only if there is a currently licensed barber working there with a current barber shop license. Cosmetologists may work alongside a barber provided they have a current practitioner’s license and a Cosmetology establishment license.
What are the requirements to open a New Barber School?
You can find the requirements in the statutes at www.arbarber.com.
How do I apply for the practical and written examination?
A candidate must legibly and accurately submit a completed Application for Examination form, Certificate of Training Form (from the school) and the examination and license fee to the Barber Board in separate checks or money orders.
I have passed both the written and the practical exam, how do I get my license?
The Barber Board will mail your license to the address you provided at exam time within 7-10 days of receipt of your passing score of 75%.
What is the cost of the exam?
The examination is $75 and paid directly to the Barber Board and submitted along with your application for Exam. The license fee is $50 and must be paid in a separate check or money order. This license has to be renewed between July 1 and September 1 when it will expire.
Where do I take the exam?
The examination is held at a different barber school each session. You will be notified by the school you attended where and when you should be there. The location and time is also posted on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/barber.board, and the State of Arkansas public calendar located at http://www.arkansas.gov/government/calendar
What happens if I do not show up to my examination?
Your application will be invalid, you will not be able to take the examination as scheduled, and you will be required to reapply for the next examination and pay an additional examination fee of $75. Read More
State Board of Barber Examiners
Can I pay the inspector for my license renewal? The answer is absolutely not. You may pay on line at www.arbarber.com or you may send in with your renewal section of your old license to 501 Woodlane, Suite 311C, Little Rock, AR 7220...