Meeting Minutes: Special Meeting to approve resolution opposing HB 1476 Arkansas Wine Producers Council

Wednesday April 2, 2025 2:30 pm Wiederkehr Wine Cellars Wiederkehr Village, Arkansas

Appointed Members

Mr. Dennis Wiederkehr, Chair

Mr. Andrew Post

Ms. Audrey House

Dr. Renee Threlfall

Mr. Dan O'Shea, Secretary

Mr Michael Post, Treasurer Ex Officio Members – None

- A. Call to Order at 2:30 Dennis Wiederkehr, Chair
- B. Council Member Roll Call- all present except Audrey House.
- C. Discussion
 - a. The council discussed the letter (see below) Dennis drafted to send to Senator Gary Stubblefield and the Committee on City, County, and Local Affairs opposing HB 1476. Andrew made a motion to accept the letter as is and Dan seconded. The motion was approved unanimously. Michael suggested that this letter should be sent to all the Arkansas wineries to enlist their support and Dan suggested that everyone contact their respective state senator to influence them to oppose this bill
 - b. The next AWPC meeting will be on Tuesday April 15.
 - c. Meeting adjourned at 2:37 pm.

Arkansas Wine Producers Council

Resolution Against HB1476

Honorable Gary Stubblefield & Senate Committee on City, County and Local Affairs:

The Arkansas Wine Producers Council is a government entity of industry members, tourism officials and educators tasked with the development of enology and viticulture, as well as winery agritourism in this state.

WHEREAS legislative support of Arkansas wineries is crucial for economic development, agriculture expansion, and the ability to compete against large corporate wineries in California and elsewhere,

WHEREAS HB1476 adds unnecessary regulatory burdens on Arkansas wineries,

WHEREAS HB1476 adds additional permitting fees to Arkansas wineries, and

WHEREAS HB1476 is unfavorable to Arkansas Package Liquor stores,

WHEREAS HB1476 unnecessarily repeals the current Small Farm Winery Shipping Law; now therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Arkansas Wine Producers Council, in a meeting on April 1, 2025, voted unanimously to urge the Senate Committee on City, County and Local Affairs Do Not Pass HB1476.

Sincerely,

Dennis Wiederkehr, Chairman Arkansas Wine Producers Council

For AWPC: Dr. Renee Threlfall, Dr. Michael Post, Dan O'Shea, Andrew Post

NOTE: All exhibits for this meeting are available by electronic means and are accessible on the General Assembly's website at www.arkleg.state.ar.us

Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "Members & Staff Only" and know these public meetings are recorded for reporting purposes.