Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy

The Board is a licensing and regulatory organization created to protect the public from incompetent, unprofessional and unlawful practice of physical therapy. Laws are established to set forth standards for the practice of physical therapy, continuing education and testing, and to define the scope and limitations of practice. The board receives, investigates and adjudicates complaints against licensees. The most important function of the board is consumer protection.

Key Services

Physical Therapist Licensee Data Download Physical Therapist Licenses Physical Therapist Jurisprudence Exam Registration Physical Therapist Licensee Directory Search
8
Department of Health
Department of Health - Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy
Department of Health - Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy
229
Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy
arkansas-state-board-of-physical-therapy
Board
["Physical Therapist Licensee Data Download","Physical Therapist Licenses","Physical Therapist Jurisprudence Exam Registration","Physical Therapist Licensee Directory Search"]

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I have my Arkansas license verified to another state?
For a written verification to be sent to another state you must submit a request in writing to the Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy along with the $15.00 fee for certification processing. Your written request should include your name as it appears on your license, your license number, and the name and address of the state board to which the certification should be sent. Normal processing time is within one week.
How do I get a duplicate license?
You may obtain a duplicate license by submitting a written request to the Board.
How do I request a list of physical therapist/physical therapist assistants for solicitation of continuing education courses?
A list of physical therapist/physical therapist assistants is $50.00 and mailing labels are $75.00 To obtain a list or labels, send a written request along with the fee to the Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy. A list in Excel format can be e-mailed to you. The Board does not offer the list on diskette or CD. Please specify order. (Ex. alphabetical or zip code order).
How often does the Board meet?
There is no set schedule but there are at least two meetings annually.
I haven't been practicing in Arkansas and allowed my Arkansas license to expire. How do I renew my license?
To return to regular status, the applicant must complete the reinstatement form; demonstrate completion of delinquent continuing education requirements up to four units (40 contact hours); and pay the annual license fee plus a reinstatement fee. The reinstatement form can be obtained by calling the Board office or by downloading from this website under forms.
See Board website for full list of FAQs
https://www.arptb.org/faqs/index.html
What methods are accepted for payment of fees?
The Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy accepts payments by personal check, cashiers check or money order. The Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy, owners of the examination, receives direct payments from candidates. They accept cashiers checks, money orders or credit cards.
How many times can a candidate sit for the exam?
Upon payment of the appropriate fee, applicants who do not pass the exam after the first attempt may re-take the examination one additional time without re-application for licensure. This must occur within six months from the first failure. Prior to being approved by the Board for subsequent testing beyond two attempts, individuals shall re-apply and demonstrate evidence satisfactory to the Board of having successfully completed additional clinical training and/or course work as determined by the Board.
What shall I do if I believe someone is violating the Physical Therapy practice Act?
It is your legal and ethical responsibility to report any suspected violation of the law to the Board. Violators may include unlicensed persons who aid and abet the illegal and unsafe practice of physical therapy as well as physical therapists or physical therapist assistants who are practicing outside the scope of law.

Got a Question?

Not quite finding the information you are looking for here?

Get Help